Sedimentary Basins

Rajasthan has four potential Petroliferous basins

The basins cover about 1,50,000 sq km on-land area. The Ministry of Petroleum & Natural gas has upgraded the first three petroliferous basins into Category- I, i.e. equivalent to the Bombay High, Cambay Basin and Assam, which are potential for hydrocarbons prospects. These 4 Basins are spread over in 14 Districts of Western & Eastern Rajasthan.

Sr. No Basin Basin Coverage


Jaisalmer Basin

Jaisalmer – Mari Arch, Kishangarh Sub-Basin, Shahgarh Depression and Miajlar Sub Basin, District Jaisalmer and part of Jodhpur.


Barmer – Sanchore Basin

Districts Barmer and Jalore (partly).


Bikaner – Nagaur Basin

Districts Bikaner, Nagaur, Ganganagar, Hanumangarh and Churu (partly).


Vindhyan Basin

Districts Kota, Jhalawar, Baran, Bundi and Bhilwara (partly) etc.

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav

Latest News

Read More
Go Top